The mission of Hope Church is to follow Jesus and His Great Commandment:
Love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul and with all thy mind and love thy neighbor as thyself.

Jesus states that if you keep only these (commandments), you will find that you are obeying all the others.


We the members of Hope Church aspire to accomplish this mission by living our lives as advocates of the Great Commandment through stewardship, worship, evangelism, education, pastoral care and service/outreach.

Mission of Vestry

In accordance with the parable of the talents, we will faithfully manage the many gifts entrusted to us by God for the benefit of our beloved Hope Church and our fellow human beings, both now and for future generations.

Core Values

Our core values are shared beliefs that guide our behavior and interaction with others, our decision making and our better instincts toward helping the less fortunate. They unite us with Episcopalians nationwide, with the Anglican Communion, and Christians throughout the world.


Showing a sincere concern for others, whoever they are, wherever we find them.


Being truthful in what we say and do.


Doing unto others as we would have them do unto us.


Being accountable for our words and actions.


Being able to forgive. Forgiveness is the greatest act of love. On an everyday basis, it’s giving people a face-saving way out when they make a mistake. True forgiveness does not demand apologies

Clergy, Staff, &
Lay Leadership

Our parish relies on the talents and leadership of our members and we are blessed with many helping hands.

The parish Vestry is the primary governing body of the church, composed of six members. At the annual parish meeting in November of each year, two members are elected for a rotating term of three years each. In addition to the Vestry, we have parish officers and various committees supporting the mission, worship and the ministries of the church.


The Rt. Rev. Audrey C. Scanlan, Bishop of the Diocese of Central PA

The Rev. Bradley Mattson, Rector

The Rev. Nancy Lesher, Deacon

Church Staff

Organist, Gail Edgell

Parish Administrator,
Katie Brown

Sexton, Gwen Norton

Parish Officers

Senior Warden, Jo Steffy

Junior Warden, Jae Dupler

Treasurer, Debbie Dupler

Assistant Treasurer, Mary Sims

Vestry Members

Jae Dupler (2023)

Stephanie Hynick (2023)

Gail Edgell (2024)

Steve Palmer (2024)

Debbie Dupler (2025)

Steve Norton (2025)

Committee Chairs

Altar Guild, Lynette Brown

Creation Care, Rob Gokey

Finance, Steve Palmer

Garden of Hope, Gail Edgell

Outreach, LeAnne Burchik

Property, Jae Dupler

Since its consecration in 1849, Hope Episcopal Church has had a rich history, beautiful architectural details, and a caring congregation that have made it welcome to all.

Visit the linked topics to explore Hope’s legacy.